Church of the Small Things

“There is more treasure in books than in all the pirate’s loot on Treasure Island.”

–Walt Disney

IMG_2699

It’s not secret that books are a big favorite around our house. Each week we leave the library with 4 bags full! Sarah Ann barely has room to sleep on her bed, because it is filled with the picture books and chapter books that she reads every night before bed. Currently (and always) American Girl books and the Rainbow Fairy series are her favorites! I love to hear her laugh and see her smile when she’s reading. And I’m just blown away by how much Reece continues to grow in his reading. Sarah Ann read the entire series of Magic Treehouse books during second grade, so Reece is determined to do the same. He’s actually gotten a head start this summer, and he’s already on book seven! Jeffrey is reading through a series with Sarah Ann and Reece now that was written by one of his favorite musicians, Andrew Peterson. Carson also likes to check out chapter books from the library to read before bed just like the big kids, and he is a great listener when we all read aloud together! His favorite books are always about animals and sports! Little J has also come so far with listening to books, and he really likes books with flaps and that make noise.

And I’m now on my fourth year of reading a book every month. So far this year I have read “Looking for Lovely” by Annie Downs, “The Magnolia Story” by Chip and Joanna Gaines, “Different” by Sally and Nathan Clarkson, “Home is Where My People Are” by Sophie Hudson, “Missional Motherhood” by Gloria Furman, and “Nothing to Prove” by Jennie Allen. I am also spending the year reading through “The Life Giving Home” by Sally and Sarah Clarkson. They have all been so great! And there are just so many wonderful books out there, and so little time! But I am so excited to share that this month I am reading a brand new book by Melanie Shankle that will be coming out this October! On a whim, I applied to be on the launch team, and I was ecstatic when I found out I was selected and was getting an advanced copy to read and share! I have loved her other three books, and this book is so wonderful so far too! “Church of the Small Things” is all about the day in and day out, the little moments that make up this most beautiful life! I can’t wait to share more as I continue reading and encourage others to read it as well! And this quote perfectly describes the book….

“I’ve lived long enough to know that often, the most memorable moments in life are the ones that sneak up on you because they weren’t planned or orchestrated, but are just the simple moments we’ll eventually look back on and think of as golden. They are the things of love and parenting and laundry and marriage and what to cook for dinner–just life in all its messy, magical, mundane and marvelous glory. These are the holy moments that are Exhibit A in why I’m a believer in the church of the small things.”

–Melanie Shankle

IMG_2827

 

Leave a Reply

